Where to go: Thailand or Vietnam

Where to go: Thailand or Vietnam

With the right planning, the dream of traveling to Asia is feasible, even on a fixed income. Southeast Asia is a popular destination for budget tourists. There are many things to suit a foreigner: a high level of service, good climate, amazing local food and hospitable people.

Among the countries in the region, Vietnam or Thailand are excellent destinations to evaluate better. In addition to cost considerations, there are factors to analyze when choosing between these countries. Below are some of the factors that will help you compare and contrast which is better to choose: Thailand and Vietnam.

Climate

Take the two southern resort islands of Phuket in Thailand and Nha Trang in Vietnam. In winter, the second city seems much nicer in terms of climate. It's not as hot during the day, and it's refreshing in the evening. Depending on the season, the weather of any country can vary considerably. In the north of Vietnam in early spring you can get pretty chilly, but in Bangkok you can get sweltering from the heat.

thai and vietnam russians on vacation

During the winter in Vietnam, the sea is quite "turbulent", but in the south, the sea water is still warm to + 25 ° C, sometimes even a couple of degrees warmer. And the air temperature is usually above 32°C. In the southern part of Thailand at this time the sea is clean, you can safely swim and the water warms up to 27 ° C. The sun is not as hot as in spring, but the thermometer reads more than 30°C.

Beaches

You can compare these two countries only by the two seaside resorts. Phuket in Thailand is washed by the turquoise Andaman Sea. The island has a lot of beaches with infrastructure and all sorts of entertainment at the level of the European tourist. During the season in Phuket is just perfect sea. Which beach to choose, and what you should pay attention to, read the article: popular beaches in Phuket.

thai and vietnam beaches

The beaches in Nha Trang (Vietnam) are inferior to Thai beaches in terms of azure water. In the evening all the beaches are crowded with Vietnamese, who like to come to the sea with the whole family. Entertainment on the beaches is not much, and the infrastructure is worse. Although if you go to Vietnam by bike, you can see a lot of beautiful beaches with blue sea and white sand, but they will be wild and non-tourist places.

Nutrition

Thailand is a place where you will never go hungry. Such a large quantity and variety of street food hardly exists in any other country in the world. Street food is available, you can find it at any time of the day or night. The cuisine of Thailand is one of the main attractions of the country.

Thai and Vietnamese food

But in Vietnam, at certain times, food simply disappears from the streets. It's hard to find anything at lunchtime, because the Vietnamese "go on siesta.

There are a huge number of restaurants serving very tasty seafood. Frankly speaking, the food in Vietnam is closer to ours.

For $ 1 you get a huge portion of soup or rice with meat or fish. Many tourists complain of stomach aches due to daily overeating due to such generous portions and affordable prices.

Food and food prices

In Vietnam, fresh fruits and vegetables are more affordable. But when it comes to imported products, which the average Asian does not eat too much (milk, cheese), it is difficult to compare. Imported products are definitely more expensive than local products.

How much does it cost to eat in tourist spots

Vietnam
($ Dollars)
Thailand
($ Dollars)
Lunch at a cheap restaurant$2,24$2,83
Three-course lunch (for two)$13,46$14,15
Lunch combo at McDonald's$3,93$5,52
Local beer$0,90$1,49
Imported beer$1,35$2,26
Cappuccino cup$1,12$1,63
A can of Pepsi/Cola$0,40$0,58
Water (0.33)$0,19$0,32

In Vietnam, as well as in Thailand, there are many good supermarkets where you can buy quality and inexpensive products. In Nha Trang these are CoopMart, Big C, MaxiMark. There are several popular chain stores in Thailand: 7/11, Family Mart are mini-markets; and Tesco Lotus and Big C are large supermarkets.

Food prices in stores and supermarkets in 2016

Vietnam
($ Dollars)
Thailand
($ Dollars)
Milk, 1 liter$1,30$1,41
Bread, 0.5 kg$0,61$1,18
Rice (1 kg)$0,81$0,99
Eggs (12 pieces)$1,38$1,67
Cheese$8,98$13,02
Chicken fillet, 1 kg$6,73$2,77
Tomatoes$1,06$1,56
Potatoes$1,08$1,25
Cucumbers, 1 kg$2,24$0,85
Bottle of water 1.5 liters$0,54$0,45
Marlboro Cigarettes$1,12$2,60

Warning!  Please note that prices may vary due to fluctuations in exchange rates.

Clothing, appliances, electronics

The market in Vietnam is very scarce. Technology is not the "end" of the country. Everything is more expensive than in Thailand. Popular online clothing brands in Vietnam are many times less than in Thailand. And it costs more here.

Thai and Vietnamese clothing

In Thailand, the price level is very low, even for American and European brands of clothing. At the same time, the quality is quite good.

Approximate prices for clothing

Vietnam
($ Dollars)
Thailand
($ Dollars)
Women's T-shirt / T-shirtfrom 5$from 2$
Women's shorts from 8$ From 3$
Men's shirtfrom 9$from 4$

Dress in stores of popular brands

from 25$from 12$

Placing

Thailand is better developed in terms of accommodation. Hostels and hotels for everyone in every city is a huge number. Any resort and "teeming" with villas easier and richer, which are located near the sea, and the price is much better and lower in relation to the CIS countries. On average, prices range from 15-20$.

thai and vietnam accommodation

Accommodation in Vietnam is cheap, especially hotels and hostels. But it is very difficult to find something for a European. You have to choose more respectable options. The rest of the rooms are simply furnished with wooden furniture in Vietnamese style, which for a European is not very familiar and comfortable.

Prices start at 8$, but average around 12-23$ for a double room in an inexpensive 2 or 3 star hotel.

There are many high-class hotels near the sea, with room rates starting from 65 $/night. At the Intercontinental Nha Trang (one of the best hotels in Vietnam) prices per night start from 120$.

In any case, everyone will have to choose the best one for themselves... And to read detailed descriptions of hotels in Phuket, reviews of tourists about hotels, book and more, use the hotel search engine Hotellook - search and compare the best prices on hotels and hotels with discounts up to 60%.

Internet availability and speed

In Vietnam, mobile Internet is big and cheap. It works almost everywhere. If we talk about the domestic Internet, the connection is very unstable. Failures are usually due to network transmission failures.

Vietnam Internet

Those who are planning to go to Thailand soon, probably would not hurt to read our article on the nuances of using the Internet in Thailand.

Infrastructure and Entertainment

Thailand is ideal for tourists. The country's roads are better than those in Vietnam. On every street you can see stores, street food, malls and entertainment centers.

Thailand entertainment

Vietnam is much more sparse in this respect. Getting and having fun somewhere after 11:00 p.m. is very problematic.

  • The Vietnamese go to bed early, so you won't see anyone before midnight.
  • There are small stores with food. But they work here on a schedule, which is convenient for the owner.
  • Shopping malls are no better.

Nha Trang, for example, has many attractions and travel agencies that arrange tours around the city and trips to neighboring regions. Here you can ride all day at the amusement park or take treatments at the mud baths for 27$. And two-day excursions to a neighboring town cost from 10-100$. From Thai Phuket, in turn, to the neighboring regions on excursions can be taken for 50-150$.

Transportation

As for Vietnam, it is quite difficult to compare the capital and the provinces. There is no subway in the large cities of Vietnam. Bangkok, on the other hand, has an underground subway, road and water transport. And cabs are also very expensive.

thai and vietnam transport

You will pay 35 baht (1$) for boarding and 5 baht (0.14$) per kilometer thereafter. Given the fact that traffic jams are very common in Bangkok, the taxi meter may surprise you unpleasantly at the end of the trip.

In Vietnam, cabs are better and more affordable. Buses are inexpensive (only $0.3 within the city limits), lots of bicycles and bikes.

You'll be surprised by the abundance of tuk-tuks in Thailand, but they charge strangers a triple price. In Bangkok, there are free shuttles, but they are usually wooden buses without air conditioning. The price depends on the type of bus. Article on Transportation in Thailand, and everything related to it: buses, trains, transfers, planes, and more.

Procedure for obtaining a visa

A visa for Vietnam can be issued for one to three months upon arrival at the airport. It does not cost much (from 30$), there are no consular fees. Until recently it was easy and cheap to renew this visa, but now everything is more complicated. The visa-free period for Russian citizens is 15 days, but in Thailand it is 30.

Thai and Vietnam visa

As for Thailand, the site has an actual step-by-step instructions on how to obtain a Thai visa in 2016 for citizens of the CIS:

  • Visa to Thailand for Ukrainians
  • Visa to Thailand for Russians
  • Visa to Thailand for Belarusians
  • One-year visa to Thailand

Medicine

There are many clinics both in Thailand and Vietnam. In Thailand, in private and public clinics, the service is very good, the staff is friendly, the prices are not so high. All necessary medications you get after your doctor's appointment. Prices:

  • In Thailand, a doctor's appointment is from 20$, for an injury it is from 40$.
  • You can pay only 10-15$ for one appointment at a Vietnamese public hospital, including all tests and prescribed treatment. In private clinics you will have to pay 50$ for each visit to the doctor. Also, dental services are inexpensive here.

In Vietnam, you can call and order a "doctor at home," especially if you have insurance. Of course, the doctors do not know much English, but they will give you the necessary instructions and medicines. The level of medicine in Vietnam has increased significantly in recent years.

How to survive acclimatization

This is a very personal aspect. Every tourist in a new country always adapts differently. In Thailand it can be difficult to get used to the food. The food is really very spicy. Completely new flavors that you haven't tried before can affect your gastrointestinal function.

In Vietnam, the food is simpler. It is always fresh and without frills. Rice with meat or fish, light soup with rice noodles can be found in every village.

It is much harder to adapt in Vietnam in terms of language. Very few Vietnamese speak English. All the labels in supermarkets are in the local language. If you plan to travel around the country, bother to learn at least a few phrases and numbers to find out the cost of food and services in cafes. Probably. You can't do without an interpreter.

In Thailand, the level of local people is more advanced. In tourist areas any local can answer you in English. Even in the market, where there are few tourists, you will never get lost.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Close

Куда лучше поехать: Тайланд или Вьетнам

тай и вьетнам

При правильном планировании мечта попутешествовать по странам Азии осуществима, даже с фиксированным доходом. Юго-Восточная Азия — популярнейший курорт для бюджетных туристов. Здесь многое должно устроить иностранца: высокий уровень обслуживания, хороший климат, потрясающая местная еда и гостеприимные люди.

 

Среди стран региона, Вьетнам или Таиланд являются отличным направлением, которое стоит оценить лучше. Помимо соображений стоимости, существуют факторы, которые следует проанализировать при выборе между этими странами. Ниже приведены некоторые из факторов, которые помогут вам сравнить и сопоставить, что лучше выбрать: Таиланд и Вьетнам.

Климат

Возьмем два южных курортных острова Пхукета в Таиланде и город Нячанг во Вьетнаме. В зимний период второй город кажется гораздо приятнее по климату. Не так жарко днем, а вечером свежо. В зависимости от сезона погода любой страны может существенно различаться. На севере Вьетнама ранней весной вы можете прилично подмерзнуть, а в Бангкоке — изнемогать от духоты.

тай и вьетнам русские-на-отдыхе

В зимний период во Вьетнаме море достаточно «турбулентно», но на юге морская вода все равно прогревается до + 25°C, иногда бывает даже на пару градусов теплее. А температура воздуха обычно превышает 32°C. В южной части Таиланда в это время море чистое, можно спокойно плавать, вода прогревается до 27°C. Солнышко не печет, как весной, но термометр показывает больше 30°C.

Пляжи

Можно сравнить эти две страны только по двум морским курортам. Пхукет в Таиланде омывается бирюзовым Андаманским морем. На острове есть масса пляжей с инфраструктурой и всяческих развлечений на уровне европейского туриста. В сезон в Пхукете просто идеальное море. Какой пляж выбрать, и на что стоит обратить внимание, читайте в статье: популярные пляжи Пхукета.

тай и вьетнам пляжи

Пляжи в Нячанге (Вьетнам) уступают тайским пляжам по лазурности воды. Вечером все пляжи переполнены вьетнамцами, которые любят приходить к морю всей семей. Развлечений на пляжах немного, да и инфраструктура хуже. Хотя, если отправиться во Вьетнам на велосипедах, можно увидеть большое количество прекрасных пляжей с синим морем и белым песком, но это будут дикие и нетуристические места.

Питание

Таиланд — это место, где никогда не останешься голодным. Такое большое количество и разнообразие уличной еды вряд ли существует в любой другой стране в мире. Уличная еда доступна, ее вы найдете в любое время суток. Кухня Тайланда – одна из главных достопримечательностей страны.

тай и вьетнам питание

Но во Вьетнаме, в определенное время, пища просто исчезает с улиц. Трудно найти что-то в обеденный перерыв, потому что вьетнамцы «уходят в сиесту».

[quote font=»arial» font_style=»italic»]

Ресторанов огромное количество, где подают очень вкусные морепродукты. Откровенно говоря, еда во Вьетнаме ближе к нашей.

[/quote]

За $ 1 вы получите огромную порцию супа или же риса с мясом или рыбой. Многие туристы жалуются на боли в животе из-за ежедневных перееданий в связи с такими щедрыми порциями и доступными ценами.

Цены на еду и продукты питания

Во Вьетнаме свежие фрукты и овощи более доступные. Но если говорить об импортной продукции, которую среднестатистический азиат не ест слишком много (молоко, сыр), то здесь трудно сравнивать. Импортные продукты однозначно дороже местных.

Сколько стоит поесть в туристических местах

 Вьетнам
($ Доллары)
Таиланд
($ Доллары)
Обед в недорогом ресторане$2,24$2,83
Обед из трех блюд (на двоих)$13,46$14,15
Комбо-обед в Макдональдсе$3,93$5,52
Местное пиво$0,90$1,49
Импортное пиво$1,35$2,26
Чашка капуччино$1,12$1,63
Банка Пепси / Колы$0,40$0,58
Вода (0,33)$0,19$0,32

Во Вьетнаме, как и в Таиланде много хороших супермаркетов, где можно купить качественные и недорогие продукты. В Нячанге это CoopMart, Big C, MaxiMark. В Таиланде несколько популярных сетей магазинов: 7/11, Family Mart  – это мини-маркеты; а Tesco Lotus  и Big С – это крупные супермаркеты.

Цены на еду в магазинах и супермаркетах в 2018 году

 Вьетнам
($ Доллары)
Таиланд
($ Доллары)
Молоко, 1 литр$1,30$1,41
Хлеб, 0,5 кг$0,61$1,18
Рис (1 кг)$0,81$0,99
Яйца (12 шт)$1,38$1,67
Сыр$8,98$13,02
Куриное филе, 1 кг$6,73$2,77
Помидоры$1,06$1,56
Картофель$1,08$1,25
Огурцы, 1 кг$2,24$0,85
Бутылка воды 1,5 литра$0,54$0,45
Сигареты Мальборо$1,12$2,60

Внимание!  Просим учесть, что цены могут отличаться от заявленных в связи с колебаниями курсов.

Одежда, бытовая техника, электроника

Во Вьетнаме рынок очень скуден. Техника — не «конек» этой страны. Все стоит дороже, чем в Таиланде. Популярных онлайн-брендов одежды во Вьетнаме в разы меньше, чем в Таиланде. Да и стоит здесь она дороже.

тай и вьетнам одежда

В Таиланде уровень цен очень низкий, даже на одежду американских и европейских марок. При этом качество довольно хорошее.

Примерные цены на одежду

 Вьетнам
($ Доллары)
Таиланд
($ Доллары)
Женская майка/футболкаот 5$от 2$
Женские шорты от 8$ от 3$
Мужская рубашкаот 9$от 4$

Платье в магазинах популярных брэндов

от 25$от 12$

Размещение

Таиланд лучше развит с точки зрения жилья. Хостелов и отелей для всех в каждом городе огромное количество. Любой курорт так и «кишит» виллами попроще и побогаче, которые расположены недалеко от моря, а цена значительно лучше и ниже по отношению к странам СНГ. В среднем цены варьируются на уровне 15-20$.

тай и вьетнам размещение

Во Вьетнаме жилье дешевое, особенно отели и хостелы. Но найти что-то очень трудно для европейца. Выбирать придется варианты посолиднее. Остальные номера просто обставлены деревянной мебелью во вьетнамском стиле, что для европейца не очень привычно и удобно.

[quote font=»arial» font_style=»italic»]

Цены стартуют от 8$, но в среднем колеблются в районе 12-23$ за двухместный номер в недорогом отеле 2-х или 3-х звезд.

[/quote]

Рядом с морем много отелей высокого класса, в них стоимость номера — от 65 $/сутки. В Intercontinental Nha Trang (одном из лучших отелей во Вьетнаме) цены за ночь начинаются от 120$.

В любом случае, каждому придется выбрать лучший для себя… А прочитать подробные описания отелей Пхукета, отзывы туристов об отелях, забронировать и прочее, воспользуйтесь отельной поисковой системой Hotellook — поиск и сравнение лучших цен на отели и гостиницы со скидкой до 60%.

Доступность и скорость интернета

Во Вьетнаме большой и дешевый мобильный интернет. Он работает почти везде. Если говорить о внутреннем Интернете, связь весьма неустойчива. Неудачи, как правило, связаны с отказами в передаче сети.

вьетнам интернет

Тем, кто в ближайшее время планирует отправиться в Таиланд, наверняка не помешает прочесть нашу статью, о нюансах использования интернета в Таиланде.

Инфраструктура и развлечения

Таиланд идеально подходит для туристов. Дороги страны лучше, чем во Вьетнаме. На каждой улице можно лицезреть магазины, уличная еда, торговые центры и развлекательные центры.

тайланд развлечения

Вьетнам в этом отношении гораздо более скудный. Приобрести и повеселиться где-то после 23:00 очень проблематично.

  • Вьетнамцы ложатся спать рано, поэтому до полуночи вы никого не встретите.
  • Есть небольшие магазины с едой. Но работают они здесь по расписанию, что удобно для хозяина.
  • Торговые центры не лучше.

В Нячанге, например, много достопримечательностей и туристических агентств, которые устраивают экскурсии по окрестностям города и поездки в соседние регионы. Здесь можно весь день кататься на аттракционах в парке развлечений или проходить процедуры в грязелечебнице за 27$. А двухдневные экскурсии в соседний город стоят от 10-100$. Из тайского Пхукета, в свою очередь, в соседние регионы на экскурсии можно съездить за 50-150$.

Транспорт

Что касается Вьетнама, довольно трудно сравнивать столицу и провинции. В крупных городах Вьетнама нет метро. Бангкок же имеет подземное метро, автомобильный и водный транспорт. И еще очень дорогое такси.

тай и вьетнам транспорт

Вы заплатите 35 бат (1$) за посадку и 5 бат (0.14$) за километр после этого. Учитывая тот факт, что в Бангкоке очень часто случаются пробки, таксометр может неприятно удивить вас в конце поездки.

[quote font=»arial» font_style=»italic»]

Во Вьетнаме такси лучше и доступнее по цене. Автобусы стоят недорого (в границах города всего $0,3), много велосипедов и байков.

[/quote]

В Таиланде вас удивит изобилие тук-туков, но там с незнающих туристов берут втридорога. В Бангкоке есть бесплатный трансфер, но это, как правило, деревянные автобусы без кондиционера. Цена зависит от типа шины. Статья по теме: транспорт в Тайланде, и все что с ним связано: автобусы, поезда, трансферы, самолеты и прочее.

Процедура получения визы

Виза во Вьетнам может быть выдана на срок от одного до трех месяцев по прибытии в аэропорт. Стоит это не дорого (от 30$), нет никаких консульских сборов. До недавнего времени эта визу легко и дешево было возобновить, но теперь все сложнее. Безвизовый режим для российских граждан — 15 дней, но в Таиланде — 30.

тай и вьетнам виза

Что касается Таиланда, на сайте есть актуальная пошаговая инструкция как в 2018 году получить тайскую визу гражданам СНГ:

Медицина

Клиник много как в Таиланде, так и во Вьетнаме. В Таиланде, в частных и государственных клиниках обслуживание очень даже неплохое, персонал дружелюбный, цены не так высоки. Все необходимые лекарства вы получите после приема у врача. Цены:

  • В Таиланде прием врача — от 20$, при травме — от 40$.
  • За один прием в государственном госпитале Вьетнама вы можете заплатить всего 10-15$, включая все анализы и назначенное лечение. В частных клиниках придется выкладывать по 50$ за каждый визит к врачу. А еще здесь недорогие стоматологические услуги.

Во Вьетнаме можно позвонить и заказать услугу «врач на дом», особенно если у вас имеется страховка. Конечно, доктора слабо знают английский, но необходимые указания и медикаменты они вам дадут. Уровень медицины во Вьетнаме в последние годы значительно вырос.

Как пережить акклиматизацию

Это очень личный аспект. Каждый турист в новой стране всегда приспосабливается по-разному. В Таиланде может быть трудно привыкнуть к еде. Еда действительно очень острая. Совершенно новые вкусы, которые вы не пробовали раньше, могут отразиться на работе ЖКТ.

[quote font=»arial» font_style=»italic»]

Во Вьетнаме еда попроще. Она всегда свежая и без изысков. Рис с мясом или рыбой, легкий суп с рисовой лапшой турист найдет в каждой деревне.

[/quote]

Гораздо труднее во Вьетнаме адаптироваться с точки зрения языка. Очень немногие вьетнамцы говорят по-английски. Все бирки в супермаркетах на местном языке. Если вы планируете ездить по всей стране, потрудитесь узнать хотя бы несколько фраз и цифр, чтобы выяснить стоимость продуктов питания и услуг в кафе. Возможно. Вам не обойтись без переводчика.

В Таиланде уровень местных жителей более продвинут. В туристических районах вам любой местный житель может ответить на английском. Даже на рынке, где мало туристов, вы никогда не пропадете.

1
Отправить ответ

avatar
1 Цепочка комментария
0 Ответы по цепочке
0 Последователи
 
Популярнейший комментарий
Цепочка актуального комментария
1 Авторы комментариев
Dimitrii Авторы недавних комментариев
новее старее большинство голосов
Dimitrii
Dimitrii

Побывал уже много где. Но Тайланд для меня какой то родной что ли. Нигде нет такой отзывчивости и доброжелательности местных жителей. Шикарная кухня, море фруктов, свежая рыба и креветки. Это кайф!