15 things to do in Siem Reap

Siem Reap

What else can you see in Siem Reap other than visiting Angkor Wat? It turns out there are a lot of interesting things! We have selected 15 important things that you should not miss if you decide to stay in this wonderful place.

1. Take a bike to explore the surrounding temples

Angkor Wat is one of the amazing temples in the Angkor Archaeological Park. Usually sightseeing is carried out by tuk-tuk, but you can make your own tourist route by bike. The temples will have to get through the jungle. Is this the kind of adventure you dreamed of?

Bike to explore surrounding temples

2. Hike Mount Kulen

Mount Kulen is about 50 km (30 miles) from the city of Siem Reap, located about two hours away. The best way to enjoy the surrounding views is to climb the mountain with trees and greenery growing on both sides. It is good if there is a local guide nearby who will tell you about the history and religious significance of the mountain. At the very top, you will cool down by a beautiful waterfall and have a hearty lunch.

Trek up Kulen Mountain

3. Live with a local family

Those who wish to get acquainted with the local way of life can live in a family for some time. In your free time, you can ride a bike around the village, see what farmers are doing, and watch how craftsmen weave traditional baskets. Go to the bustling market, plunge into this bright holiday atmosphere. If you have very little time, you can stay in the village for half a day.

Homestay with locals

4. Cook delicious Khmer food at the farm

Another great way to learn about the local culture is to cook national dishes. At the master class, you will be able to learn recipes for Cambodian specialties made from fresh products directly from an organic farm supported by Agrisud International. Under the supervision of the best local chefs in Siem Reap, you will create your culinary masterpiece, and then enjoy a home-cooked lunch. These skills will come in handy in the future when you want to taste Khmer food.

See also: The famous street of bars "Pub Street" in Cambodia

Cook delicious Khmer Food at an organic farm

5. Get the priceless experience of living in a floating village

One of the most interesting things to do in Siem Reap is visiting the floating village. It is interesting to watch how the houses on stilts rise from the water. This is a completely different, unusual world for us. Imagine that you are going to a school or district office by boat. This is how the locals live. The floating villages are on the Tonle Sap River, the most important river in Cambodia along with the Mekong River. Go to Kompong Khleang, where you can see the real life of the village, and not to Chong Kneas, designed more for tourists.

Experience life on the waters at the floating village

6. Discover Beng Meea Jungle Temple

If you want to explore the area outside of the main temple complex, be sure to visit Beng Miilea Temple. Overgrown with trees and bushes, he was lost in the jungle. Much of the history of the stone structure is unknown. However, the architectural style is reminiscent of Angkor Wat and historians believe that the temple was built around the beginning of the 12th century.

Discover the jungle temple Beng Mealea

7. Get to know Banteay Srei

Built in the 10th century, Banteay Srei (Women's Citadel) stands out for its pinkish-red sandstone and incredibly intricate carvings. In addition, this large temple was not built by kings, but by brahmins. If you have time, it's definitely worth coming here to explore this treasure. And at the same time, visit the Banteay Srei Butterfly Center.

Banteay Srei

8. Get your adrenaline pumping at Ta Prohm Temple

Angkor Zipline is one of the best things to do in Siem Reap for adrenaline junkies. This is an incredible ride as you race through the jungle at full speed. Come here with your families and friends for a fun day out and see the wildlife in all its glory. Special discounted tickets can be booked through TakeMeTour.

Zip across the forest near Ta Prohm Temple

9. Visit the Angkor National Museum

For history buffs, the museum is the best place to get a complete picture of the Angkor empire. There are many interesting exhibits here. The Angkor National Museum is open from 8:30 am to 6:30 pm.

Visit Angkor National Museum

10. See how artisans work

If you are interested in traditional Cambodian arts and crafts, you can visit Artisans Angkor. The company provides free tours of the workshops, which are available in seven languages. The main feature of Artisans Angkor is the social mission to support young Cambodians. They are taught here absolutely free of charge. Having received a qualification, specialists can find a job in enterprises.

Support Khmer arts and craftmanship at Artisans Angkor

11. Walk the streets slowly and taste the local food

Ask a local what you can try in Siem Reap, and he will most likely say: "grilled chicken." This is the most popular dish that you will be offered almost anywhere. Another delicious street food that you must try is fried snails. You can leisurely wander the streets with the locals and taste everything you see on the shelves. Only go out in search of provisions with an empty stomach!

Go on a street food crawl

12. Enjoy Phare's exciting performance

The performance of the artists of the Phare Cambodian Circus is a real magic. With creativity and care, they create amazing traditional performances that combine theatre, music and acrobatics. The Phare team is made up of students and alumni

Phare Ponleu Selpak. Low-income young people study at the institution. For them, this is a chance to become artists and performers.

Enjoy an enthralling performance by Phare

13. Taste new flavors of rice wine at Sombai

Rice wine is a traditional drink of the locals, but in Sombai it is beyond praise. Rice wine is blended with rum and local ingredients ranging from coffee to green chili to create 8 unique flavors. Unusual combinations are sure to excite your taste buds. You can also take a tour of the production to see for yourself the process of creating a unique wine with different tastes.

Taste new flavors of rice wine at Sombai

14. Audit Night Markets

Night markets are very popular in Siem Reap, and the great thing is that they are located almost back to back. Angkor and Siem Reap markets are within walking distance of each other. You'll find plenty of souvenir and clothing stores, food stalls, and massage parlors (you can even get fish foot massages). A lot of interesting things can be found in Made in Cambodia Market and Siem Reap Art Center night market.

Check out the night markets

15. Get a firework of emotions on Pub Street

Nightlife is rarely complete without a visit to Pub Street. It is the center of restaurants, bars and clubs. Here you will feel the atmosphere of the holiday, just walking through the streets. If you get tired of the crowds, you can pop into one of the stylish bars for some of the best cocktails in town.

Have a blast at Pub Street

You can stay in Siem Reap for one or more days. In any case, you will find something to do in this wonderful city.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

en_USEnglish
Close

15 вещей, которые нужно сделать в Сиемреапе

Siem Reap

Что еще можно увидеть в Сиемреапе, кроме посещения Ангкор-Вата? Оказывается, много интересного! Мы подобрали 15 важных дел, которые не стоит пропускать, если вы решите остановиться в этом чудном местечке.

1. Возьмите велосипед, чтобы исследовать окружающие храмы

Ангкор-Ват — один из удивительных храмов в археологическом парке Ангкор. Обычно осмотр достопримечательностей проводят на тук-туках, но вы можете проложить свой туристический маршрут на велосипеде. К храмам придется добираться через джунгли. Не о таком ли приключении вы мечтали?

Bike to explore surrounding temples
Bike to explore surrounding temples

2. Осуществите поход на гору Кулен

Гора Кулен находится примерно в 50 км (30 милях) от города Сиемреап, расположенного примерно в двух часах езды. Лучший способ насладиться окрестными видами — подняться на гору с растущими по ее обеим сторонам деревьями и зеленью. Хорошо, если рядом будет местный провожатый, который расскажет об истории и религиозном значении горы. На самом верху вы охладитесь у красивого водопада и плотно пообедаете.

Trek up Kulen Mountain
Trek up Kulen Mountain

3. Поживите в местной семье

Желающие ознакомиться с местным бытом могут некоторое время пожить в семье. В свободное время можно прокатиться по деревне на велосипеде, посмотреть, чем заняты фермеры, понаблюдать, как мастера плетут традиционные корзины. Сходите на шумный рынок, окунитесь в эту яркую атмосферу праздника. Если у вас совсем мало времени, вы можете остановиться в деревне на полдня.

Homestay with locals
Homestay with locals

4. Приготовьте вкусную кхмерскую еду на ферме

Еще один замечательный способ узнать о местной культуре — приготовить национальные блюда. На мастер-классе вы сможете изучить рецепты фирменных блюд Камбоджи из свежих продуктов прямо с органической фермы, поддерживаемой Agrisud International. Под присмотром лучших местных поваров в Сиемреапе вы создадите свой кулинарный шедевр, а потом насладитесь приготовленным своими руками обедом. Эти навыки вам пригодятся впредь, когда захочется отведать кхмерской еды.

Читайте также: Знаменитая улица баров «Паб стрит» в Камбодже

Cook delicious Khmer Food at an organic farm
Cook delicious Khmer Food at an organic farm

5. Получите бесценный опыт, пожив в плавучей деревне

Одно из самых интересных занятий в Сиемреапе — это посещение плавучей деревни. Интересно наблюдать, как домики на сваях поднимаются из воды. Это совсем другой, непривычный для нас мир. Представьте себе, что вы отправляетесь в школу или районный офис на лодке. Так и живут местные жители. Плавучие деревни находятся на реке Тонлесап, самой главной реке в Камбодже наряду с рекой Меконг. Отправляйтесь именно в Kompong Khleang, где можно увидеть настоящую жизнь деревни, а не в Chong Kneas, рассчитанную больше на туристов.

Experience life on the waters at the floating village
Experience life on the waters at the floating village

6. Откройте для себя храм джунглей Бенг Мееа

Если вы хотите исследовать местность за пределами главного храмового комплекса, то обязательно посетите храм Бенг Миилеа. Заросший деревьями и кустами, он затерялся в джунглях. Большая часть истории каменного сооружения неизвестна. Однако архитектурный стиль напоминает Ангкор-Вата, и историки полагают, что храм был построен приблизительно в начале 12-ого столетия.

Discover the jungle temple Beng Mealea
Discover the jungle temple Beng Mealea

7. Ознакомьтесь с Бантей Срей

Построенный в 10 веке Banteay Srei (Цитадель Женщин) выделяется розовато-красным песчаником и невероятно сложной резьбой. Кроме того, этот крупный храм был построен не королями, а брахманами. Если у вас есть время, определенно стоит приехать сюда, чтобы ознакомиться с этим сокровищем. А заодно посетите центр бабочек Бантей Срей.

Banteay Srei
Banteay Srei

8. Дайте выход адреналину возле храма Та Пром

Angkor Zipline — одно из лучших занятий в Сиемреапе для любителей адреналина. Это невероятный аттракцион, когда вы на полной скорости проноситесь над джунглями. Приходите сюда вместе с семьями и друзьями, чтобы весело провести день и увидеть дикую природу во всей ее красе. Билеты по специальной цене со скидкой вы можете забронировать через TakeMeTour.

Zip across the forest near Ta Prohm Temple
Zip across the forest near Ta Prohm Temple

9. Посетите Национальный музей Ангкор

Для любителей истории музей — лучшее место, где можно получить полное представление об империи Ангкор. Здесь много интересных экспонатов. Национальный музей Ангкор открыт с 8:30 до 18:30.

Visit Angkor National Museum
Visit Angkor National Museum

10. Посмотрите, как работают ремесленники

Если вы интересуетесь традиционным декоративно-прикладным искусством Камбоджи, вы можете посетить Artisans Angkor. Компания предоставляет бесплатные туры в мастерские, которые доступны на семи языках. Главной особенностью Artisans Angkor является социальная миссия по поддержке молодых камбоджийцев. Их здесь учат абсолютно бесплатно. Получив квалификацию, специалисты могут трудоустроиться на предприятия.

Support Khmer arts and craftmanship at Artisans Angkor
Support Khmer arts and craftmanship at Artisans Angkor

11. Неспешно пройтись по улицам и попробовать местную еду

Спросите у местного жителя, что можно попробовать в Сиемреапе, и он, скорее всего, скажет: «курицу-гриль». Это самое популярное блюдо, которое вам предложат практически в любом месте. Еще одна вкусная уличная еда, которую обязательно нужно отведать — жареные улитки. Вы можете неспешно бродить по улицам вместе с местными жителями, и дегустировать все, что видите на прилавках. Только выходите на поиски провизии с пустым желудком!

Go on a street food crawl
Go on a street food crawl

12. Наслаждайтесь захватывающим выступлением Phare

Выступление артистов Камбоджийского цирка Phare — настоящее волшебство. С творчеством и заботой они создают потрясающие традиционные спектакли, в которых сочетаются театр, музыка и акробатика. Коллектив Phare — это студенты и выпускники

Phare Ponleu Selpak. В учреждении учатся малообеспеченные молодые люди. Для них это шанс стать художниками и исполнителями.

Enjoy an enthralling performance by Phare
Enjoy an enthralling performance by Phare

13. Попробуйте новые вкусы рисового вина в Sombai

Рисовое вино — традиционный напиток местных жителей, но в Сомбае оно выше всяких похвал. Рисовое вино смешивается с ромом и местными ингредиентами — от кофе до зеленого перца чили, чтобы создать 8 уникальных вкусов. Необычные сочетания наверняка возбудят ваши вкусовые рецепторы. Вы также можете совершить экскурсию по производству, чтобы своими глазами увидеть процесс создания уникального вина с разными вкусами.

Taste new flavors of rice wine at Sombai
Taste new flavors of rice wine at Sombai

14. Проведите ревизию на ночных рынках

Ночные рынки очень популярны в Сиемреапе, и самое замечательное — они расположены практически впритык. Рынки Ангкор и Сиемреап находятся в нескольких минутах ходьбы друг от друга. Вы найдете там множество магазинов с сувенирами и одеждой, прилавки с едой, а также массажные салоны (вы даже можете заказать массаж ступней с помощью рыбок). Много интересного можно найти в магазине Made in Cambodia Market и на ночном рынке Siem Reap Art Center.

Check out the night markets
Check out the night markets

15. Получите фейерверк эмоций на Паб-стрит

Ночная жизнь редко обходится без посещения Паб-стрит. Это центр ресторанов, баров и клубов. Здесь вы почувствуете атмосферу праздника, просто прогуливаясь по улицам. Если вам надоест толпа, можете заглянуть в один из стильных баров, чтобы попробовать лучшие в городе коктейли.

Have a blast at Pub Street
Have a blast at Pub Street

Вы можете остановиться в Сиемреапе на один или несколько дней. В любом случае вы найдете, чем занять себя в этом замечательном городе.

Отправить ответ

avatar